Setting Sail

Forever ago I wrote a poem (in grade 10, I think) called “Set your sails”. It was about a man who sailed the ocean and learned how to trust God in the midst of the storms of life.

I’m thinking of this old poem now and realizing how much it really foreshadows all of our lives – especially mine.

I’ve found myself in more storms than I can count in the last year and a half. Some were beyond my control, some were definitely because of my own response to life, and some were my reactions based on past experiences to other (sometimes unrelated) storms.

But here’s what I’ve learned… The bigger the storm, the bigger the TRUST!

It’s always a matter of heart connection.

How much are you willing to go through – how big of a storm? Just to be closer to Jesus and hear his steady voice saying, “Do not be afraid. I’ve got you. Have faith.”

Cuz that’s what storms are all about. Seeing his power break through and carry you higher. Higher above the clouds until the storm is raging under your feet.

Sure he walked on water that one time with Peter – who had his faith strengthened – but we are called to do greater things than even Jesus.

John 14:11-12 The Message (MSG)

“Believe me: I am in my Father and my Father is in me. If you can’t believe that, believe what you see—these works. The person who trusts me will not only do what I’m doing but even greater things, because I, on my way to the Father, am giving you the same work to do that I’ve been doing. You can count on it.”

Because we are called to greater AND because we have the power that raised Christ from the dead living inside of us, we can rise above the storms of life and not just merely walk on water… WE CAN WALK ON THE STORM!!

Life is tricky though and we need to cling to him every moment that we’re walking up there because an instantaneous run-in with someone who doesn’t walk on storms can potentially leave the enemy’s fingerprint in the shape of a huge “what if?” searing in our mind.

But let me tell you this… The storm is worth it. The storm is the biggest thing that will seemingly carry you further into the unknown… but ultimately the storm is the thing that makes you KNOWN!

Known by the King of Kings – my provider who owns everything.

Known by the Prince of Peace – the Son of God who walks on stormy seas and calms the wind and waves.

Known by a loving Father who protects and goes before you.

Known. Seen. Loved. Adored. Provided for.

No matter what your “storm” is today, whether it’s a living situation or finances or trusting for your future or praying for a loved one or an illness or even getting out of bed in the morning (not so simple)… No matter what it is TRUST him. He is Faithful to carry you over the clouds and into the unknown… because YOU are known.

stormDon’t give up because you can’t see through the rain and fog and clouds… Rest and know that your God conquers storms and the hands that raised the dead are holding you. There’s so much hope in trusting Him in the storm. I pray you find that hope and peace… And I hope I stay here too, since this is what I’m currently learning. 😉

One last thing… listen to this song. It helps. 🙂

Amanda Cook – Set our Sails

Oh, and as for the poem about the sailor… It must be lost in the recesses of my basement and old poems from high school days. But if I ever come across it I will post here to all of you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

